Split Pea Awesomeness

I love cooking. It’s a point of personal pride that I’m a full time working mom who cooks healthy dinners 5-6 nights a week. I like putting home cooked food in front of my kids and seeing them enjoy vegetables like kale and zucchini. It’s easy to feel like a mom-fail on just about any other subject, but on this point I feel pretty good.

About 7 months ago I decided to go vegetarian. It was primarily for my own health but it’s had a good impact on my family. Obviously it’s possible to eat meat and be healthy, but I found removing the option made me commit more firmly to well balanced, vegetable-heavy meals. With meat on the menu it was easy to dump some potato or pasta on the plate. Without meat I try harder.

The idea that kids need meat in order to get enough protein to grow is a fallacy. My kids naturally tend to reject meat, picking around it or even spitting it out. I found myself pushing meat on them and trying to conceal it with filler foods like cheese and starch. Which meant they were just eating the filler. So now I don’t offer meat, I offer healthy non-meat protein sources and lots of veggies. And whaddya know, my picky eaters are eating.

The commitment is this: eat more vegetables and whole grains. Skip the meat and don’t fill its place with pasta or dairy. The result has been a dramatically healthier nightly menu.

Tonight I made Split Pea and Barley Soup from scratch. The recipe is from my favorite cookbook, a total jackpot of vegetarian recipes found at the bottom of a heap at our local used book store. It’s called Simple Vegetarian Pleasures and every recipe so far has been a home run.

20120205-200617.jpg

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on February 5, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. That soup looks great. And I don’t know that cookbook but I will have to look for it!

  1. Pingback: Spicy Dahl – Yellow Split Pea Soup « The Antiguan Vegan

Leave a Reply

