Fuggen Ugly with Silver Stamps

I decided to do a mixed medium thing with a matte base and sparkly metallic stamps.  For the base I tried my first matte formula.  Up until now I’ve been putting a matte top coat over shiny polishes, but this time I got my grubby little mitts on “Fuggen Ugly” by Manglaze.  And boy howdy is it awesome.  It covers in one coat, although I added a second to level it out a bit.  The Hot Wheels is a 6-wheeled masterpiece with a gun turret called “Invader.”  It has graphics on the side calling for resistance and victory.  Pretty sweet.

Manglaze Fuggen Ugly

Hot Wheels "Invader" with Manglaze "Fuggen Ugly"

I then decided to stamp with Wet n’ Wild Fastdry in “Silvivor.”  It took a bit of figuring out to get unblurred results over the satin base coat.  It’s a subtle effect but I’m really liking the tone-on-tone thing.  I’m considering trying the specially formulated Konad stamping polishes because metallics always seem so sheer and that’s not so great when you’re stamping.  The stamp is from Bundle Monster (BM21).  You can see the awesome road warrior graphics on the side of the Invader in this shot.

Fuggen Ugly and Silvivor

Invader, Fuggen Ugly and Silvivor

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on February 8, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. That looks cool! I can never get stamps without topcoat to look right! Konad special polishes are especially good for silver and white stamping. They’re not sheer and they just work REALLY well with the stamps. I usually use Sally Hansen Insta-Dri for stamping but I have black, white and silver Konad polishes. Very cute nails, and nice hot wheels prop! 🙂

Leave a Reply

