Battle of the Pinks

I decided to do a pink thing in anticipation of Valentine’s Day. The only problem was, which pink? I have two very similar hot pinks: Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear “Hot Magenta” and Sinful Colors “Oasis.”

Between the two Hot Magenta is my preferred color. It has just a slight metallic blue sheen, making it the cooler tone of the two. And I always tend to skew blue in my preferences.

The problem is, it’s old and doesn’t apply very well. It has thickened and that results in coats that are a little denser than ideal. I did my first coat in Hot Magenta and then went over it with Oasis to even it out. I ended up with the truer pink of Oasis, but at least it blended well with the base coat.

I then celebrated the arrival of my Red Angel plates by stamping a fishnet pattern in black over the top. What I didn’t realize until I was done was that direction matters. So not all of my netting is facing the right way.

The Hot Wheels is unnamed because a small person ran off with it before I could write it down, and now I can’t find it. Oh well!

20120213-221140.jpg

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on February 13, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

