Black Tip French Manicure

This is way outside of my comfort zone.  I typically prefer my nails to be darker than my skin.  Picking a base color that’s lighter is not an easy choice for me.  But I really wanted to experiment with doing taped tips and for once I felt like doing a light base.

So here it is.  The base is Sinful’s “Easy Going,” a pinky peach creme.  I really don’t like cremes. I feel like they tend to go on thick and require too many coats to look even.  As a result I end up with flooded cuticles that are difficult to clean up.  This is probably more due to lack of practice and patience than the polish itself.  Regardless, it took 3 coats to get even coverage.   The tips are Nina Pro’s “Black,” my go-to black for detail work like stamping. I used Orly’s White Tips Guides to mark off the tip area.  The car is Hot Wheels “Power Pipes.”

This was my first taping and my first french tips.  I feel like I was a bit conservative with the size of the tips on most fingers, but I was concerned that larger tips would look comical because my nails are still a bit on the short side.  Regardless, I’m pretty pleased with this first attempt.  I’ll definitely try this look again.

Black Tip French Manicure

Black Tip French Manicure

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on February 20, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

