That Thing I Like: That Thing You Drew

Today I realized why I ended up with this blog name. I mean, the long version is that I wanted something generic so I wouldn’t get bored by being locked into a theme. I looked for available names like, “Stuff I Like” and “Things that are Awesome” or something similar, but all of the generic affection-themed WordPress blog names were taken.

So I expanded and started with longer iterations. I stumbled upon “That Thing I Like” and grabbed it. It was perfect! It wasn’t until today that I realized why I settled on that option.

I was browsing through my favorite blog feeds on Google Reader and noticed a few recent updates on Mike Holmes’ blog. As I loaded it up, the name stuck out like a sore thumb: “That Thing You Drew.”

My affection for his work must have colored my selection process. No matter, he happens to be on-theme for this blog. He is indeed a thing I like.

I wouldn’t describe myself as a fan of comics, web or otherwise, but there is a handful of talented illustrators I admire and follow. Olly Moss is one. Kate Beaton is another. Now, Kate and Mike know each other and I saw her reference him on Twitter once or twice. I never paid much attention, although in retrospect I should have. But then one day Patton Oswalt retweeted Mike’s announcement that he was selling a limited edition print of a concert flier he did for one of Patton’s shows. I looked and fell in love with the style and immediately bought one. Incidentally, Patton Oswalt is a thing I like, too.

That’s when I found Mike’s blog. Soon after that he embarked on a project to do a daily self portrait in the style of other talented illustrators. The way he perfectly captures the essential elements of other artists’ styles is awe-inspiring. I highly recommend adding him to your daily rotation.

So there it is. I prefer not to say I stole his blog name idea. I prefer to think of it as an homage. An homage to his blog of homages. And maybe posting my admiration of his work absolves my unintentional plagiarism. Whoops!

Posted on February 20, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

