POW muthafucka!

I decided to try my hand at a taped explosion mani.  I’ve never taped before, aside from the black French tips the other day.  There’s definitely a learning curve to it.  I made plenty of mistakes before I figured out what I was doing, so you can see plenty of blemishes in the finish, unfortunately.  Oh well, live and learn.  i’ll know better next time.

I made it harder on myself by mixing matte with shiny.  For a first try, that was probably a little ambitious.  The base is Manglaze “Fuggen Ugly,” one of my favorite polishes.  It looks like wet concrete and I love it more than I can describe.  The POW is China Glaze “Ruby Pumps.”  I was really happy with this one, too.  First of all, it’s just a gorgeous red.  Second, it’s pretty damn opaque.  considering I laid it over something as dark as this base, it really pops red without needing a red undercoat.  And it’s glittery, oh yes it’s glittery.

I couldn’t find any Hot Wheels for this picture.  I bought a wicked sweet scorpion car and one of my kids immediately rolled it under the sectional.  That sucker is gone, man.  So this time it’s an elephant.  Enjoy the elephant.

POW Manicure

POW! Manglaze "Fuggen Ugly" with China Glaze "Ruby Pumps." And an elephant. Don't forget the elephant.

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on February 26, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Great choice of colors, Love mixing matte with shiny!

Leave a Reply

