Mannequin Hands

A month or so ago I saw a nail blog mention the “mannequin hands” manicure.  The idea is that you match your nail polish to your skin tone as closely as possible.  The idea was so absurd that I had to try it.  The only problem was finding a nail polish that matches my skin tone.  Well I finally found one.

This is Sally Hansen Insta-Dri “Quick Sand.”  I’m not a fan of the formula or bottle shape (I hate Sally Hansen’s long necks) but the big fat brush was surprisingly easier to work with than I thought.  I topped it with Essie’s “Matte About You” matte topcoat to get as plasticky as possible.

I had to use flash for this photo because the color wasn’t reading accurately otherwise.  Man, this is the creepiest manicure ever.  I can’t imagine I’ll make it a full day with this.

Mannequin Hands

Mannequin Hands: Sally Hansen Insta-Dri "Quick Sand" and Essie "Matte About You."

Mannequin Hands Flat

Creepiest manicure ever.

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on March 1, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

