Sometimes I Doubt Your Commitment to Sparkle Motion

I popped into Sally Beauty Supply this evening to see if they had anything on my wishlist.  Sure enough they had Orly “Luxe” and China Glaze “Liquid Leather.”  Then as I was standing at the register I glanced down at the pile of reduced polishes and saw China Glaze “Some Like It Haute.”  This was a major want, I just hadn’t been able to find it before.  It gets better.  That sucker was only $1.98.  SCORE!

I came home and immediately swatched it.  I tried it on top of China Glaze “Pelican Gray,” China Glaze “Liquid Leather,” OPI “Alpine Snow,” Orly “Luxe” and Rimmel “Pure Silver.”

Please forgive my dry skin.  As mentioned in my previous entry I’m still grappling with slaughtered, chemically burned skin from a really cheap nail polish remover.  OH YEAH and my offspring decided to sneak out of bed before it was dry and I smudged the hell out of my pointer finger while getting them settled back down.

Haute Swatch Test

China Glaze "Some Like It Haute" swatch test. Smudged thanks to a pair of preschoolers who snuck out of bed and had to be re-wrangled.

Here’s my conclusion.  The base coat doesn’t matter much for this polish.  It’s sheer enough that you’ll want one, but it mostly overshadows whatever is underneath.  Black didn’t seem quite right, gold skewed it slightly warmer, but gray, white and silver were nearly identical.  I ended up doing one coat of Pelican Gray for the final paint job because it would be the least obvious if a little peek of it showed around the edges.

China Glaze Some Like it Haute and Hot Wheels Aston Martin One-77

China Glaze Some Like it Haute and Hot Wheels Aston Martin One-77

Now, what this photo doesn’t convey is the sheer magnitude of sparkle in this amazing polish.  And I really mean amazing.  I’ve never in my entire life seen anything sparkle like this.  It’s incredible.

Here’s an attempt at a gif using Cinegram for iPhone.  Still a little finicky, that app.

Sparkle Motion

Sparkle Motion

No, that doesn’t quite do it.  How else can I illustrate the awesome sparkle?  How about some video footage?  Yeah, check this shit out:

oh and hey, here’s a blocky compressed gifninja version of the video:

Gifninja version

Gifninja version

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on March 10, 2012, in Misc. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

