Catrice – Genius in the Bottle

This was a tough decision.  Within the last few days I got three coveted polishes in the mail.  Which then set off a crisis spiral as I tried to decide which one I wanted to use first.

China Glaze FYI Catrice Genius in the Bottle Ozotic 509

China Glaze "FYI," Catrice "Genius in the Bottle," Ozotic "509"

The China Glaze one is a bit of a compromise.  OMG is the silver holo and it typically eBays at a much higher price than I’m willing to pay.  FYI, on the other hand, is a tan holo and I was able to get it for a reasonable price.  The holo isn’t as strong as Ozotic but it’s pretty nonetheless.

I gave FYI and 509 a quick test to see the rainbows.  Oh crikey the rainbows!  the photo doesn’t do it justice so I’ll be doing some kind of gif or video when I do a full 10 fingers.

China Glaze "FYI," Ozotic "509"

China Glaze "FYI," Ozotic "509"

Okay so moving on to Genius in the Bottle.  It’s a beautiful brass/bronze that shifts to a golden green.  I expected it to be primarily green, shifting to brassy bronze, but I prefer it this way.  I’ve always had a dream of perfectly metallic nails and the shiny metallic sheen of this polish pleases me muchly.

Catrice Genius in the Bottle

Catrice "Genius in the Bottle." Yep, I totally could have spent more time on cleanup.

Let’s have a look at this sucker in motion.  Gif captured using the iPhone app “Gif Shop.”

Genius in Motion

Catrice "Genius in the Bottle" in motion. Lower light to show off the green shift.

Genius in the Bottle in motion 2

Catrice "Genius in the Bottle" in motion. Brighter light to show off the shine.

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on March 16, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

