Metropolis Nails

I like Catrice’s “Genius in the Bottle” so much that i couldn’t bring myself to replace it today.  So I decided to instead try some taping and add some black for accent.  Now, I haven’t been terribly successful with taping yet.  I’m still figuring it out, which means I always end up with a bit of bleed rather than crisp clean lines.  So it’s not quite as awesome as what I had in my head, but I like the concept.  I was thinking the golden green oil slick look of Genius reminded me of the 1920s vision of the future, like the golden tone in vintage posters for Fritz Lang’s Metropolis.

Metropolis Poster

Fritz Lang's Metropolis

And given the time period I started thinking about half-moon manis.  Long story short, I ended up taping off the base of my nails with a star-shaped sticker and filling in the gap with China Glaze “Liquid Leather.”  With more experience I think this would be really chic looking, with much crisper lines and cleaner edges.

Genius Taped

Catrice "Genius in the Bottle," China Glaze "Liquid Leather," and Hot Wheels 2012 Yur So Fast

The car is another Malaysian Hot wheels, one of a series named “Yur So Fast.”  The blue model is the 2012 version, with prior years being produced in different colors.  The body shape is based loosely on the Koenigsegg Roadster.

Oh heck, here’s a side by side just because I can.

Metropolis nails

Fritz Lang's "Metropolis, Catrice "Genius in the Bottle," China Glaze "Liquid Leather

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on March 17, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

