Nail Polish Hanging Organizer

I saw this on Reddit last night and knew immediately I would do this.  I found the original blog post that the photo came from, which you can see here at KikiChaos.com.

This is a hanging jewelry organizer that I picked up from the Container Store.  I compared with my options on Amazon.com but the sale CS is running this weekend made it an easy buy.  $17.99 for 80 clear pockets.  There was also a shoe organizer for $14.99 with much larger pockets, that would probably hold 4 polishes at a time, but this felt like a better option.

Hanging Organizer

Hanging jewelry organizer holding most of my polishes.

I was careful to pick one with a heavy duty hanger.  Most of the hanging jewelry organizers have flimsy wire things and that’s just not going to hold up a bazillion glass bottles of polish.  In this initial go around I was able to get 2 bottles in per pouch.  as the plastic and canvas relaxes I think I’ll be able to shuffle a bit to make more capacity.  Or it will permit me to put bottles in the pockets on the back side.  Right now I’m about 4 bottles over capacity, and I can’t fit any of my base or top coats.  So we’ll see how this thing stretches over the next few days.

Why do this instead of the classic Ikea Helmer?  Because I don’t have a spot in my house where a case of nail polish wouldn’t make it look like a dorm room.  I have a nearly unused closet off of my master bath and this will hang in there nicely.  And my bathroom linen closet will get a ton of shelf space back.

And who knows, the Helmer is $40.  If these pockets don’t relax enough to accommodate more on the back side and I have to spend another $18, maybe I should just step it up and hide the drawer system in the same closet.

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on March 31, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 305 other followers

