Drug Store Multichrome

I’ve been visiting various drugstores in my area to scope out their cosmetics sections.  I found a Rite Aid in the suburb north of mine and made an interesting find.  There was this rack of inexpensive polishes under the brand CQ, which I’d never heard of before.  A quick google told me the line is only available at a couple of retailers, so perhaps that’s why I’d never noticed it before.  The colors were nothing to get excited about, with the exception of three multichromes.  Which, of course, I picked up.

CQ Collection

CQ Nail Polish multichrome collection.
L to R: Rustic Dream, Idyllic, Golden Green.

Rustic Dream is a warm orange-red multichrome that ranges from hot pink to bright yellow, depending on the angle.  Idyllic is a purple multichrome that skews from blue to red.  Golden green is more of a duochrome, and is exactly as its name implies.

I tried out Rustic Dream today, which is why I didn’t sweat that reflecty image above.  Because you can see it below.

Rustic Dream Outside

CQ Rustic Dream with a monkey yo-yo.

Rustic Dream Closeup

CQ Rustic Dream close up. I did a little treatment here so you wouldn't scream and run at the closer sight of my still-healing cuticles.

Rustic Dream Contrast

Another attempt to show the range of color shift in CQ Rustic Dream.

All in all I’m impressed with the multichrome shine.  I’ve tried other duo- and multichromes that didn’t shift much on the nail (Sinful Colors, I’m looking at you) but this is a pretty intense shift.  On the negative side, the formula needs help.  it’s a bit streaky and difficult to smooth out brush marks.  Still, it was opaque in two coats so that’s something.

The stamping is Konad special black and Bundle Monster BM 201.  It’s okay.  Looks like a basketball to me.  Not a big fan of basketball.  Oh well.

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on April 1, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

