Duped by Dupes

I have bought three polishes in the last couple of weeks that are nearly identical.  I didn’t realize it until I bought the third one and realized when I got it home that it looked familiar.  But check out the similarity.

Similar OPIs

L to R: OPI's Royal Rajah Ruby, Sephora by OPI's I'm With Brad, and OPI's Espresso Your Style

Espresso Your Style is definitely different, but man it’s close.  Royal Rajah Ruby and I’m With Brad are disappointingly similar in the bottle.  I was really dismayed that OPI would bottle the same shade twice.  So as soon as I noticed their identicality (yes, that’s a word) I slapped them on my thumb so I could see them side by side.  This is really messy.  Sorry, I just couldn’t be bothered cleaning up when I was just going to be removing them.

SideBySide

Left half: OPI's Royal Rajah Ruby. Right half: Sephora by OPI's I'm With Brad.

It’s basically the same color, but I’m With Brad is a darker tone than Rajah Ruby.  Anyway, I decided to go with I’m With Brad for a base and then stamped with OPI’s Designer, De Better! from their 2011 Muppets collection.  I was sloppy on the cuticle clean-up on this one, too.  I don’t know what my problem is tonight, I just can’t be bothered.  The excess will take care of itself in the shower tomorrow.

Brad and Muppet

Sephora by OPI's I'm With Brad stamped with OPI's Designer... De Better! The plate is BM 208 and the car is Hot Wheels Med-Evil.

Brad Muppet Soft Light

Softer, indirect light. OPI by Sephora's I'm With Brad, OPI's Designer... De Better, Bundle Monster BM 208 and Hot Wheels Mid-Evil.

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on April 12, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

