Funky Flakie Fowl Play

This is Orly’s Fowl Play, from their Birds of a Feather collection.  It’s a rich burgundy base with rose and cobalt flakies.  It reminds me of a not-quite-as-fabulous version of a Nfu Oh flakie.  Not quite as fabulous because the base is just a tad too opaque, so the flakies don’t get to be all HELLO THERE, BEAUTIFUL as they do in a Nfu Oh formula.

I still need to work on my application.  every time I think I’ve done a clean job I end up seeing ridiculous unevenness around the cuticles when I post photos.  I swear everything looks kosher at conversational distance, but these close up shots make me look like I applied the polish with my feet.

Fowl Play 4

Orly's Fowl Play in morning shade. Filter applied to make the flakies stand out more true to life.

Fowl Play 3

Orly's Fowl Play in morning sunlight. I had to apply a filter to get the flakies to resemble real life, and it's throwing the other colors off. The base is much more burgundy than straight purple.

Fowl Play 1

Orly's Fowl Play in lamp light with Hot Wheels' '70 Buick GSX. Major shrinkage around the cuticles from the Seche Vite topcoat. I fixed this later.

Fowl Play 2

Orly's Fowl Play in spotlight.

Fowl Play 3

Orly's Fowl Play, a rare bottle shot.

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on May 2, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

