Office-Appropriate Neon

Ever since I bought a handful of neon polishes during the Walgreen’s Sinful Colors sale I’ve been wondering how I could wear them to work.  I work in an office environment, and neon isn’t an automatic slam dunk.  I decided I could tame it down with some black stamping and set to work to make it happen.

I also watched several videos on cuticle maintenance in the hopes of improving the neatness of my edges.  I’ve always read about people using acetone and a brush to keep their borders neat, but it never really worked for me.  Then I had a eureka moment when I realized people are doing that method while the polish is still wet, whereas I was waiting until everything was dry.  Duh, what the hell is going on in my brain that I couldn’t figure that out for myself?

My end result tonight is just a smidge neater.  I have a long way to go, but it’s progress.  And once again, it looks so much neater to the eye than the camera.  These close-ups show every single itty bitty error.

The number of layers was my biggest neatness challenge.  Neon really pops when you layer it over white, and your white can’t be patchy or the neon will show the patches.  So I did 2 coats of OPI’s Alpine Snow, 2 coats of Sinful Colors’ Dream On, and then stamped with Konad’s black special stamping polish.  The plate was Bundle Monster’s BM-210.  Cleaning up every coat and making sure the neon perfectly overlapped the white was difficult, to say the least.

I got my best photos on my cell phone, surprisingly.  Neon is friggin’ impossible to capture but I have an app that yielded a pretty reasonable color correction.  The photo lighter than the actual polish, which is actually closer to this, but it’s all I’ve got without a copy of Photoshop handy.

Neon Cell 4

Cell phone photo of Sinful Colors’ Dream On, stamped with Konad black special stamping polish (BM-210).

After the cut I’ve included lots more photos in progress and completed.  I had to do significant color correction to make the pink look as bright as it does to the eye.  Damn camera.

What’s the deal with white polishes going on so streaky?  I’d take a recommendation for a self-leveling, 2-coat opaque white in a heartbeat.

White Base Coat

2 coats of OPI’s Alpine Snow. Still streaky, as is typical with every white I’ve ever used. I’ll admit I considered doing a third coat and just sticking with a white mani. But neon, man. I’m in it for neon.

I had to do a crazy bit of image manipulation to make the neon pink resemble real life.  My photo editing software is limited, so this is the best I could do.

Pink Colorized

2 layers of OPI’s Alpine Snow, followed by Sinful Colors’ Dream On. Colorized to try to make the pink look as neon as it does to the eye.

Neon Stamped Colorized 2

2 coats of OPI’s Alpine Snow, 2 coats of Sinful Colors’ Dream On, stamped with Konad’s black special stamping polish.  Natural matte finish.

Neon Cell 1

Cell phone photo of Sinful Colors’ Dream On, stamped with Konad black special stamping polish (BM-210).

Neon Cell 2

Cell phone photo of Sinful Colors’ Dream On, stamped with Konad black special stamping polish (BM-210).

Neon Cell 3

Cell phone photo of Sinful Colors’ Dream On, stamped with Konad black special stamping polish (BM-210).

Neon Cell 5

Cell phone photo of Sinful Colors’ Dream On, stamped with Konad black special stamping polish (BM-210).

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on May 3, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

