Not-So Smooth and Perfect

I decided I had resisted long enough and bought two bottles of Sally Hansen’s Smooth and Perfect.  The marketing claims it is beautifully self-leveling and produces a smooth, porcelain-like finish.  I bought Air, which is a gorgeous baby blue, and Fog, which is a soft, pearly white.  I’ll admit my selection was driven by my frustration with the application of white polishes, mentioned in my previous entry.

So here goes, two test nails:

Perfectly Smooth

Sally Hansen’s Smooth and Perfect: Air and Fog.

Oh my god it’s gorgeous.  It’s exactly as promised, so smooth and even and china-esque after three coats.  And check out how clean my cuticles are (although dry).  Getting better in that department.

But wait… I decided to go ahead and paint my other eight fingers, alternating blue and white.  And during that distraction something very strange happened.  This perfectly smooth, documented with photography, porcelain-like finish bubbled like crazy.

Imperfectly Smooth

Sally Hansen’s Smooth and Holy Crap What Happened? in Air and Fog.

I did a bit of googling and I’m not the only one who’s had this problem.  It seems pretty hit or miss, but unfortunately I can’t determine what makes it a hit or a miss.

By this point I was too far in to bail out, so I decided to stamp.  However, these formulas are not stampable.  So I ended up having to find a white and pale blue I could stamp with.  I ended up with Konad’s white special stamping polish, which is a much starker white than Fog, and Sinful Colors’ Greek Isle, which is more turquoise than Air.  I did multiple passes of a floral stamp from BM-205.  In short, this was kind of all over the place.  I topped it all off with Gelous to conceal the bumps, and finally a coat of Seche Vite.  The end result looks a bit like china, I guess.

I should mention that I made the bizarre decision to slather my cuticles with apricot oil before taking photos, so I’m shiny as hell.  I’m not sure that’s an improvement.  Frankly, I think it makes my hands look old.

Smooth Stamped Shade

Sally Hansen’s Smooth and Perfect in Air and Fog, stamped with Konad’s white stamping polish and Sinful Colors’ Greek Isle.

Smooth Stamped Sun

Sally Hansen’s Smooth and Perfect in Air and Fog, stamped with Konad’s white special stamping polish and Sinful Colors’ Greek Isle.

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on May 4, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

