Silver and Gold Gradient

For the last few days I’ve been hovering on the precipice of the border mani, trying to convince myself to try again.  I’m going to do it, I swear.  But first I have a few other things I want to do   Like a sponge gradient!  A metallic, blingy, sliver and gold gradient!

Silver and Gold

Sally Hansen’s Xtreme Wear in Celeb City with Orly’s Luxe and Hot Wheels’ Sling Shot.

I’m a sucker for metallics, especially silver.  My lifelong nail polish dream has been perfectly reflective, mirror-like, liquid silver nails.  Unfortunately, the only way I’ll probably ever achieve that dream is with pricey Minx or Jamberry appliques.  Fortunately there are folks like Mr. Gents of OneGentsTen who are experimenting with more accessible means.  Until these alternative methods are perfected, however, I’ll have to keep dreaming and be content with foils and frosts.

I spent a lot of time with my metallics, deciding on the right shades to gradient.  i very nearly did a three-shade gradient with OPI’s Designer… De Better! but decided against it.  I was within a breath of including Brisbane Bronze, but that felt a little too Olympian.  In the end I settled on Sally Hansen’s Xtreme Wear in Celeb City and Orly’s Luxe.  For the base coat I did a pass with China Glaze’s Pellican Gray.  I chose gray because I figured the silver would look contaminated if any warmth from the base coat peeked through.

For the gradient itself, I painted directly on the sponge and dabbed it onto my nail.  Rather than doing one color at a time, I did both and slightly shifted the point of contact to soften the divide between colors.  I’m pretty damn pleased with the end result.  I topped it off with a coat of Gelous to mellow out the stippling, then floated on a layer of Seche Vite.

Sponge

China Glaze’s Pellican Gray was used as a base coat. Sally Hansen’s Xtreme Wear in Celeb City and Orly’s Luxe were painted directly onto the sponge and dabbed onto my nails.

It was a pretty efficient way to end up with a nice, soft gradient.  I don’t think I would do it any other way, now that I’ve tried it this way.  Incidentally, clean-up was a bit of a nightmare, especially because metallic foils tend to stick around until hell freezes over.  There isn’t enough acetone on earth to lift every remnant, it seems.  Hopefully what’s left will come off in the shower tomorrow.  And next time I’ll dab a bit of petroleum jelly on my skin to help the excess lift off more cleanly.

One more photo, in indirect artificial light.  Just look at how soft that gradual transition is.  I love it!

Silver and Gold Indirect Light

Sally Hansen’s Xtreme Wear in Celeb City with Orly’s Luxe and Hot Wheels’ Sling Shot.

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on May 6, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

