Hematite Nails

We took the boys to Fernbank, Atlanta’s natural history museum this weekend.  They saw their first dinosaur bones and were appropriately nonplussed.  At one point Owen looked up at the giant fossils and asked, “They’re not real, right?”  What he meant was, they’re not alive.  He clarified, “They won’t move, right?”  I reassured him that they’re real, but not alive.  They were alive a long long long long time ago (at three, “long long time ago” is the largest increment of time they can comprehend).  We ended up spending almost 3 hours there, and they seemed to really enjoy the visit.

Fernbank

Fernbank

Anyway, nails.  I believe I’ve mentioned that my life-long manicure dream is perfectly liquid metal lacquer.  Chrome is my white whale, but I’m ridiculously happy with what I’ve got today.  This is Sally Hansen’s Complete Salon Manicure in Black Platinum (340).  It has the gorgeous dark liquid metal look of hematite.

Sally Hansen Black Platinum

Sally Hansen’s Complete Salon Manicure in Black Platinum. And pepper. And more pepper in the background.  The motherload of pepper, apparently.

The formula is absolute perfection.  The brush, unfamiliarly stout, was actually pretty brilliant for application.  You can see some imperfections in both thumbs, but that’s because I dinged them.  Don’t blame the polish.

The only negative I’ll mention is that it doesn’t seem to play well with Seche Vite.  I’ve never seen shrinkage like this with other polishes.  It shrunk back from the cuticles like no one’s business.  I need to start experimenting with other quick dry top coats to find one that shrinks less.

All in all I love this color.  This immediately ranks up there with my most favorite lacquers.  I bought it in January but waited until now to try it.  I shouldn’t have waited so long!  This is a must-have color.

Black Platinum

Sally Hansen’s Complete Salon Manicure in Black Platinum, expressed via “the claw.”  Excuse the dry skin.

Black Platinum 2

Sally Hansen’s Complete Salon Manicure in Black Platinum with Hot Wheels’ Golden Arrow.  It’s named Golden Arrow in spite of the fact that it very clearly is silver.

Black Platinum 3

Sally Hansen’s Complete Salon Manicure in Black Platinum with the inappropriately named Hot Wheels Golden Arrow.

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on May 8, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

