Butter London’s Disco Biscuit Gave me a Flashback

I had a bit of an unplanned splurge at Ulta today.  I got out of  work a bit early and decided to see if the new OPI Amazing Spider-Man collection was in.  It was, so I picked up Just Spotted the Lizard and Number 1 Nemesis.  I then grabbed Orly’s Pure Porcelain.  At the last second I decided I couldn’t resist any longer and grabbed Butter London’s Disco Biscuit.

In short, it’s fabulous.  It’s a hot pink jelly with lots of blue shimmery micro-glitter.  The glitter is visible in all lighting, both direct and indirect.  It’s pretty damn amazing.  Based on reviews I knew it takes lots of layers to build opacity so I decided to cut to the chase and layer it over Sally Hansen’s Xtreme Wear in Hot Magenta.  I then did 2 layers of Disco Biscuit.  I’ve also read that it dries a bit duller than ideal and the glitter is topcoat hungry, so I did a layer of Gelous and finally a layer of Seche Vite.

And here’s the result.

Disco Biscuit 1

2 layers of Butter London’s Disco Biscuit over 1 layer of Sally Hansen’s Extreme Wear in Hot Magenta.

Disco Biscuit

Disco Biscuit over Hot Magenta with Hot Wheels Golden Arrow

Disco Biscuit 2

Disco Biscuit over Hot Magenta with Hot Wheels Golden Arrow.

Full disclosure, I was attracted to this color due to an association with its name.  Back in college I spent time deep in the bowels of electronic music and its associated culture.  I devoured books by authors like Irvine Welsh (favorite: Marabou Stork Nightmares), Jeff Noon (favorite: Vurt, although I own a first edition hardcover of Pollen), and Alan Warner (eh, I didn’t actually enjoy Morvern Callar).  When the compilation titled Disco Biscuits was released, I jumped on it.  Just holding the book in my hands brings back those years of deep electronic beats, the occasional rave and lots and lots and lots of shiny glitter.  This book is the late 1990s to me.  It’s a bygone era and someday when my kids are older they will find it and read it and they’ll think it’s as quaint and distant as I thought of sock hops and poodle skirts.  Aging is weird.

Disco Biscuits Book

Disco Biscuit with Disco Biscuits.

MOAR PICTURES!

Disco Biscuit Artificial Light 1

Butter London’s Disco Biscuit in artificial light.  Actually a pretty accurate representation of the color, if a bit crunchy (sorry, cell phone pic).

This was taken in my favorite lighting location in the office, the restroom. Relax, this isn’t the toilet area. OR IS IT. Naw, it’s not. OR MAYBE IT IS. No. It’s really not.

Disco Biscuit Artificial Lighting 2

Butter London’s Disco Biscuit. A blurry shot in an effort to show off the blue sparkles.

Disco Biscuit Sunlight

Butter London’s Disco Biscuit. The camera thinks it looks red in the sun. It doesn’t. It’s just too blazing for my cell phone to handle.

How about some animated gifs of the stop-motion variety?  WHY YES, I CAN PROVIDE.  Put your creeped-out face on because these are herky jerky.

Disco Biscuit Sunlight Gif

Butter London’s Disco Biscuit, sparkling in the sun.

Disco Biscuit Indoors Gif

Butter London’s Disco Biscuit sparkling in the weirdly good bathroom lighting. Performed by the sinks.  What’s going on with my sideways ring, there?

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on May 11, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

