Dupe-Fest Swatcharama Part 1 – Chanel Peridot Dupes

That title is absolute nonsense.

I decided I wanted to take my recent haul and compare colors with others I already own.  At this point I have about 140 lacquers, which isn’t an enormous collection, but it’s big enough to have some colors overlap.  So why not swatch them side-by-side for comparison?  And while I’m at it, why not declare winners?  I originally put them all together in one post but it was crazy photo-heavy so instead I’ll split them up.

Swatchfest started because of my obsession with Chanel Peridot.  And also my obsession with not spending $30 on a single polish (well… that’s not true.  I just don’t want to spend $30 list price on a non-special edition before shipping).  I bought a bottle of Catrice’s Genius in the Bottle because many bloggers identified it as a Peridot dupe.  I was kind of surprised when I got it home, because it seemed so much brassier than I’d imagined.  Then OPI released Just Spotted the Lizard with its Amazing Spider-man collection.  Again, it was touted as a Peridot dupe.  So I had to get my hands on it and compare.

While I was at it I noticed that Number 1 Nemesis, also from the Spider-man collection, looked a lot like Lucerne-tainly Look Marvelous.  So why not swatch all four?  Apologies for the messy application, I’m not exactly a professional swatcher.

Genius Lizard Bottle

L: OPI’s Just Spotted the Lizard. R: Catrice’s Genius in the Bottle.

You can immediately see that Genius is brassier. Now, I’ve seen both of these swatched side-by-side with the real Peridot and both were described as an exact match. But these are clearly different from each other.  Will the real Peridot dupe please stand up?

Nemesis Lucerne Bottle

L: OPI’s Number One Nemesis. R: OPI’s Lucerne-tainly Look Marvelous.

Number One Nemesis and Lucerne-tainly Look Marvelous are pretty similar at first glance, and if you didn’t see them directly side by side you might suspect they were identical.  The micro-glitter particles are virtually identical in size and shape, and the formula is fundamentally the same.

Genius Lizard Nemesis Lucerne

L to R: Catrice’s Genius in the Bottle, OPI’s Just Spotted the Lizard, OPI’s Number One Nemesis and OPI’s Lucerne-tainly Look Marvelous. Pardon the messy application. Two coats of each, no base or top coat.

Genius and Lizard are very similar, but on the nail Genius is still brassier.  Based on my obsessive stalking of Peridot I’d say pretty confidently that Genius in the Bottle is not a true Peridot dupe, but Just Spotted the Lizard is.  The OPI formula is superior, too.  Nemesis is warmer than Lucerne, so if you tend to prefer warmer or cooler colors you might use that to make your choice.  They’re similar enough that owning both may not be necessary.

Winners: Just Spotted the Lizard and Lucerne-tainly Look Marvelous

Now let’s have a Peridot Dupe-off!

Spotted the Lizard Aston Martin

OPI’s Just Spotted the Lizard with Hot Wheels Aston Martin One-77

Genius Taped

Catrice’s Genius in the Bottle and China Glaze’s Liquid Leather with unlabeled Hot Wheels

Yep, Catrice is definitely brassier.  I guess the best way to explain the difference is that OPI’s dupe (as well as the real Peridot) is primarily green with golden duochrome shift.  Catrice’s dupe is primarily golden brass with green duochrome shift.  Depending on what you want to show front and center, make your purchase decision accordingly.

More Dupe-Fest Swatcharama entries to come!

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on May 15, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

