Dupe-fest Swatcharama Part 3 – Blues and Greens

This is part of three of an evening spent swatching.  I bought a bunch of inexpensive polishes and wanted to compare them to other lacquers I already had in my collection.  Click for part 1 and part 2.

The swatcharama event ended up comparing all of my A Englands to other polishes.  I’m a rare displeased customer of the brand, so I think I was looking for these polishes to really win back my affection during the comparision.  I decided to put Order of the Garter up against Pure Ice’s French Kiss.  French Kiss is a creme and Order of the Garter is shimmery, but the blues are similar.  Of course, I had to crunch the A England bottle open because it was still crusted shut from its original shipment.

Order of the Garter French Kiss

L: A England’s Order of the Garter R: Pure Ice’s French Kiss

I then decided to compare my two brightest greens, even though they aren’t really comparable in finish or formula.  Eh, I never claimed to be scientific.

Milani Green Glow Sally Hansen Just in Lime

L: Milani’s Green Glow R: Sally Hansen’s Insta Dry in Just in Lime

Blues and Greens

L to R: Pure Ice’s French Kiss, A England’s Order of the Garter, Sally Hansen’s Just in Lime, Milani’s Green Glow. Two coats of each, three coats of Green Glow. No base or top coat. I smudged my pinkie just before photos and my cuticles are flooded.  Oh well.

Application of French Kiss was quite nice, but even this brief test left a stain behind.  Order of the Garter is more sheer but builds nicely with no staining.  Just in Lime is a beautiful grassy green but its fast drying formula kind of threw me off and my second coat was poorly timed.  Green Glow is just awful.  No amount of layering will bring that thing up to the promise of the bottle.

Winners: Order of the Garter and Just in Lime.

You win this round, A England.  You win this round.

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on May 22, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

