Subtle Pistol Mani

If you follow Nailed It, you know what a pistol mani is.  If not, read here to find out.  It’s basically when you do accent nails on thumb and forefinger, the two fingers you’d hold up if you were making a gun with your hand.  In my case I noticed I had two lovely greens that were very similar in shade but different finishes.  So why not do a subtle pistol accent mani?

I used Essie’s School of Hard Rocks on three fingers and Revlon’s VIP Status on the gun fingers.  SoHR is a gorgeous creme, with a very nice self-leveling formula.  Essie creme formulas tend to be streakier than I like, but this was a good one.  VIP Status is a lovely shimmer, with a very nice formula that showed minimal brush strokes.

School of Hard Rocks

Essie’s School of Hard Rocks on pinky, ring and middle fingers, and Revlon’s VIP Status on pointer and thumb. Topped with Out the Door quick dry top coat.

I got bored with it fast so the next day I decided to add a lightning bold accent, following Nailside’s tutorial.  Next time I think I’ll try her double-bolt tutorial. Continuing with the pistol mani theme I topped the shimmer fingers with Zoya Trixie, a silver foil, and the creme fingers with Julep’s Leighton, a smooth silver.

School Of Hard Rocks Lightning

Essie’s School of Hard Rocks topped with Julep’s Leighton on pinky, ring and middle fingers. Revlon’s VIP Status topped with Zoya’s Trixie on pointer and thumb.

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on June 9, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. WOW! The lightening bolts really, really make it look like a whole different mani!

Leave a Reply

