Blue Ombre

I really wanted to do an ombre/hombre thing in my title but I resisted the urge.

I decided to do an ombre manicure, working from dark blue to light blue from thumb to pinkie.  It’s pretty, but I’m not thrilled with my choice for my middle finger.  I was paralyzed by choices and I ended up picking something that skewed too green.  On the plus side, I get to mark three more items as “worn = Y” on my silly spreadsheet.

Blue Ombre

Thumb to Pinkie: China Glaze First Mate, Revlon Fashionista, Sinful Colors Greek Isles, Revlon Dreamer, Pinkie: Nubar Baby Blue

As seems typical, the dark colors were much nicer formulas than the lighter formulas.  First Mate is, as previously reported, just about perfection in the formula department.  It self-levels like a godsend.  Fashionista also self-levels nicely, but it chipped twice this morning under normal wear and tear.  The streakiest polish was Baby Blue, the only one that required three coats.  Dreamer was a slightly better formula than Greek Isles, but both wanted to be patchy on the second coat and required a bit of fuss.  CND Stickey base coat and Out the Door quick dry top coat on all.

Oh and here’s a bonus.  This is the kind of day I’m having.  Check out what I did this morning while wrestling the garbage bins to the curb:

Big Crack

China Glaze’s First Mate, which should not be held responsible for my klutziness.

And of course I didn’t notice it until I was on the train.  No patching kit at work.  So I’m now holding it in place and preventing further breakage with a bandaid.  Always a fashionable look.

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on June 12, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

