Subliminal Stamping

I had a big ol’ clipping and filing party last night thanks to the massive number of breaks I suffered in a very short period of time.  I tried to patch my brutally cracked thumbnail but lost the broken piece in the process.  I finally embraced it and figured I’d keep the square shape but take the length right down to my fingertips.  It’s actually not bad.  I like how it looks, in spite of the fact that I told myself when I stopped biting my nails that they would never be short again.

I decided to go low-key for my first shortened nail mani.  I’m not much for flashy contrast anyway.  My clothes tend to be solid colors, and I only rarely go for anything noticable.  This is evident in my nails because I’m more likely to do tone-on-tone than sharp contrast.  I’m working on that, and I do occasionally challenge myself to step out of my safety zone.  But I just really like subtle detail.

Which is why I keep coming back to one of my favorite polishes, OPI’s Designer… De Better! for stamping.  Most people probably wouldn’t consider it a stamping polish.  Its microglitter and sheer base make it a very fine stamped layer, barely visible over whatever base coat you use.  I haven’t yet tried it on black, but perhaps I should for a definitive comparison.  For this mani I layered it over OPI’s Brisbane Bronze with a design from the DRK-A stamping plate.

Subtle Stamp 2

OPI’s Brisbane Bronze, stamped with OPI’s Designer… De Better! from the DRK-A stamping plate. Topped with Out the Door quick dry top coat.

Straight on in soft lighting you can just barely see the lovely shimmer of DDB laid over the bronze base.  With just a small angle change the stamp stands out more.

Subtle Stamp 3

OPI’s Brisbane Bronze, stamped with OPI’s Designer… De Better!

And with another angle shift it completely disappears, as it also does in more direct lighting.  What you’re left with is the almost subliminal impression of a reticulated texture, ranging from rich, warm bronze to pale platinum.

Subtle Stamp 1

OPI’s Brisbane Bronze, stamped with OPI’s Designer… De Better!

I took a back-lit shot in artificial lighting because it really shows off the fine particles in the DDB stamp in contrast with the shimmery base.  To the eye it’s rarely this visible in bright light.

Subtle Stamp 4

OPI’s Brisbane Bronze, stamped with OPI’s Designer… De Better!

Lastly, here’s my poor thumb, clipped and filed down after the break proved unsalvageable.  I’m having to make due with a slanty side because I can’t take it down as far as it broke.  I’m consoling myself with the knowledge that it will grow back eventually.

Subtle Stamp Thumb

OPI’s Brisbane Bronze, stamped with OPI’s Designer… De Better!

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on June 13, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

