Barcode Nails – A Partial Fail

I realized the other day that the DRK-A stamping plate has a UPC code etching. If you’re like me and your most influential years occurred during the ’90s and Henry Rollins’ barcode neck tattoo totally blew your mind, you’ll understand why the idea of barcode nails made me say FUCKYEAH.  I’m a product of the rage generation, the “Fuck you, corporate America, I’ll put a fucking barcode on myself and wear a NIN t-shirt while listening to Black Flag and Bad Religion!” generation.  Ahhhh Gen X, no one cares about us anymore.

The thing is, bar codes are precise things.  Thin straight lines in high contrast do not mesh well with my klutzy tendencies.  So while the execution is fine from a distance (think 10 feet or more), up close it’s a bit of a disaster.  I’m never quite sure where my finger is lining up on the stamp, and with such stark contrast the edges where the stamper didn’t make contact are really obvious.  Plus I wobbled.  Oh how I wobbled.

I got an enthusiastic compliment from a stranger earlier today, but I can’t live with the sloppiness.  Wave bye bye, it’s going away tonight!

UPC combined

OPI’s My Boyfriend Scales Walls, stamped with Konad’s black special stamping polish. Topped with Out the Door quick dry top coat.  Pointer finger went all diagonal and massive fail happened on the thumb.

UPC car

You can see where it went really wrong on my pointer and thumb.  OPI’s My Boyfriend Scales Walls, Konad’s black special stamping polish and Hot Wheels’ 70 Pontiac GTO.

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on June 15, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

