Electric Sparkle Nails with Stop Motion GIFs

It’s another sparkle day, and boy howdy does it sparkle.  This is a free OPI I picked up last week when Ulta was running its buy-3-get-1 promotion.  It was the only one left but fortunately it was the only one I wanted.

The Flowers are Blue-Ming is a medium blue glass flecked jelly.  It’s important to note that the sparkles are a glass fleck style micro glitter, not standard glitter.  What that means is that it stays suspended and homogenized in the bottle, and getting it onto your finger is a breeze.  Maximum sparkle, minimum hassle.

To get the most brightness out of the jelly I decided to layer it over a white base, in this case I did two coats of OPI’s Alpine Snow.  The result is an almost electric blue with tons of sparkles.  It’s pretty goddamned magical.

The Flowers are Blue-Ming in Sun R

2 coats of OPI’s Alpine Snow, topped with 2 coats of OPI’s The Flowers are Blue-Ming, and a coat of Out the Door quick dry topcoat.

The Flowers are Blue-Ming in bright sun L

OPI’s The Flowers are Blue-Ming

Now, I don’t know about you but I always find it challenging to layer darker over lighter.  The lighter color always seems to peek around the edges.  It’s more apparent in photos than in person, but I see white where I wish I didn’t.  I’ve had this issue with other layered manis where the base was light.  Drives me crazy.

The Flowers are Blue-Ming Car R

OPI’s The Flowers are Blue-Ming with Hot Wheels’ ’70 Plymouth GTX.

The Flowers are Blue-Ming Car L

OPI’s The Flowers are Blue-Ming and a Pontiac GTX.

Before I decided to use white as a base I experimented with a few other colors.  Here’s the sloppy test.

The Flowers are Blue-Ming Test

Quick and sloppy test with different base colors. Pinky:white, ring:black, middle:silver, pointer:blue, thumb:red.

TFAB-M appears very similar when applied over white or blue.  Silver added nothing to the appearance.  Black and Red were also very similar, but the red one was more intriguing.  While I didn’t get any purple shift like I’d hoped, the blackened appearance was deeper and more complex than the one layered over straight black.

Okay here we go, you know what comes next on a glitter post.  IT’S CRAZY STOP MOTION GIF TIME!  I did three, and although the third one has the worst lighting, it shows the most sparkle.  Put your totally-creeped-out face on, because here we go.

The Flowers are Blue-Ming Sparkle GIF 1

OPI’s The FLowers are Blue-Ming.

The Flowers are Blue-Ming Sparkle GIF 3

OPI’s The Flowers are Blue-Ming.

The Flowers are Blue-Ming Sparkle GIF 2

OPI’s The Flowers are Blue-Ming.

GNAAAAAH!  ZOMBIE HAND!!!!!

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on June 19, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

