First Indie Polish and Hiking

It was a big outdoors weekend, and boy are my feet sore.  I did a solo 4 mile hike along the Chattahoochee on Saturday, where I only found one of six geocaches I intended to find.  We then decided to take the boys up to Amicalola Falls on Sunday so they could see the big waterfall.

First the geocache, because it’s the only photo I have of my Friday/Saturday mani.  I had this high concept that I totally hated upon execution.  I used Essie’s Bikini so Teeny as my base, because apparently I’m in this “buy all of the blurples” mode right now.  I then stamped what I thought was a honeycomb pattern on top, but once it was on the nail I realized it looked more like a soccer ball.  But the worst part was that I decided to stamp two colors, thinking it would look like a gradient.  I swiped one side of the stamp plate with FingerPaints’ Grape Gumball, and the other side with FingerPaints Blue Raspberry Taffy.  The result was too juvenile for me.  If I were 19 I’d be all over it.  As it is, I don’t think someone my age can pull off something like this.

Nano Cache

Essie’s Bikini so Teeny, stamped with FingerPaints’ Grape Gumball and Blue Raspberry Taffy.

But check out that cache!  From this side it looks like I’m holding a dog turd, but it was actually a clay-like resin that looked enough like a natural rock to blend in with the environment.  Flipped it over and there was a nano, about the size of a button, nestled inside.  Unscrew it and unroll a narrow band of tape to sign the log.  Score!

Sadly I missed out on all of the others I looked for, mostly because they had been “muggled.”  That’s geocacher talk for a cache that has been removed, probably by a “muggle,” or a non-geocacher who either lacks the knowledge or interest in playing by the rules. Of the six I went for, three were muggled, one was swarming with bees, and another one just simply eluded me.

Then when we went up to Amicalola we tried for two more and both of those were muggled, too.  My new hobby is being ruined by assholes.  Please, folks, if you run across a container in the woods full of stuff, don’t just take it home.  Leave it there.  Don’t ruin it for everyone else.

Here’s the mani I took up to the falls.  It’s my first indie polish, Catching Fire by KAYS Polish.  It’s a gorgeous warm red, filled with a stunning gold shimmer.  It’s on its last run, so grab it now before it’s gone forever.  I layered it over OPI’s I’m Not Really a Waitress because this indie is so pretty that I want to conserve it.  The formula is absolutely stupendous, applying evenly and flawlessly.

KAYS Sun

KAYS’ Catching Fire, 1 coat over a coat of OPI’s I’m Not Really a Waitress. Topped with Out the Door quick drying top coat.

KAYS with Car

1 coat of KAYS’ Catching Fire over 1 coat of OPI’s I’m Not Really a Waitress. I’m holding the Hot Wheels Delorean because it’s just that good. Special polishes should be photographed with a special car, right?

And just because I can, I’m going to brag about my kids.  Amicalola falls is strenuous terrain.  The path up the side of the waterfall is up a steep path, then up 604 stairs.  It’s 175 stairs to the first overlook.  My 3 1/2 year olds were such champs.  Owen, in fact, chose to ascend most of the steps himself, and was so proud of himself for making it.  I’m proud of him, too.

Almost to the Overlook

Almost to the Overlook.

Say, "Water-derp!"

Say, “Water-derp!”

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on June 24, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

