Herringbone FOREVER

I just want to say first that I love neutral and black manicures.  They’re so freakin’ classy, brah.  So I did a little neutral and black thing yesterday and I love it forever.  If I could marry it I would totally marry it.  I’m seriously thinking about marrying it.

I started with two coats of Essie’s Mochacino, a medium-toned taupy brown with a lovely cool silvery shimmer.  It really is a beautiful lacquer, and the formula is so nice that it’s almost un-Essie-ish.  Hey look, I invented an adjective.

Mochacino

Two coats of Essie Mochacino, topped with Out the Door quick drying top coat.

I waited for it to fully cure and then applied a herringbone stamp with Konad special black stamping polish.  To finish it off I tried my new favorite top coat combo, a layer of Sally Hansen’s Diamond Shine, and a layer of Seche Vite quick dry top coat.  I discovered this combo because Seche Vite and Out the Door work best over wet polish, and since my base coat before stamping is fully dry, I added the Diamond Shine to give the QDTC something to glom on to.

Turns out it gives you crazy glossy shine.  That Diamond Shine stuff really is shiny, and Seche Vite is already a shine monster.  The combo together is ridiculously shiny.

Herringbone Sun

Essie’s Mochacino with Konad‘s special black stamping polish. Topped with Sally Hansen’s Diamond Shine and Seche Vite quick dry top coat. The car is Hot Wheels’ La Fasta.

Herringbone Lamp

Essie’s Mochacino with Konad‘s special black stamping polish.  Topped with Sally Hansen’s Diamond Shine and Seche Vite.

Oh yeah, one more thing.  Guess what awesome thing happened about an  hour after I finished?

Herringbone Broken

Anyway, I also experimented with using silver linear holo as a topcoat to make any color look holographic.  I used one coat of Ozotic 509 over a range of colors to see how they looked.  Moderate success!  I didn’t invest a lot of energy in clean-up because I took it all off about 5 minutes after I took the photo.

Holo Test 1

L to R: KAYS’ Catching Fire, FingerPaints’ Sexy Sundress, OPI’s Fly, and Sinful Colors’ Dream On.  All topped with 1 coat of Ozotic 509.

Holo Test 2

L to R: KAYS’ Catching Fire, FingerPaints’ Sexy Sundress, OPI’s Fly, and Sinful Colors’ Dream On.  All topped with 1 coat of Ozotic 509.

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on June 28, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. WOW – just wow!

    I love the holos (I still need to get me one to try out!) and I really think that herringbone looks ultra classy and timeless.

    • the toughest thing with the holo layering is that it’s tough to get an even, thin layer. if you overlap your strokes at all you end up with a visible more opaque streak. probably takes a bit of practice, but it has potential.

Leave a Reply

