Achievement Unlocked: Glitter Holo Unicorn Pee Sandwich

What happens when you layer glitter, linear holo, and Max Factor’s Fantasy Fire?  You get an 0rgasm of sparkle and color shift and oh god it’s so pretty.  I finally got my hands on a bottle of Fantasy Fire, AKA Unicorn Pee, and knew I needed to do something amazing with it.  Get your O-face ready.

I’ll quickly run through what I used and then get to a bajillion photos.  Every time I look down at my hands I want to scream, “Yer a wizard, Harry!”  It’s like kapow! Magic!

Fantasy Fire Thumb Sun

Here’s a sneak peak. Lots more photos below.  Click for the larger version.

So here’s my combination, which I tested on one finger before committing to a full mani.

Polishes

L to R: Zoya’s Ivanka, FingerPaints’ Movie in the Park, Ozotic’s 509, Max Factor’s Fantasy Fire and Seche Vite.

The layering order came about when I opened the shipping envelope and realized how small the Fantasy Fire bottle is.  I knew it was smaller than most polishes, but this is damn tiny.  So I didn’t want to waste it with run of the mill layering over black.

I had about 20 polishes sitting out on my bathroom vanity, waiting to be worn in some fashion.  I held FF in my hand and decided I needed maximum sparkles.  I needed color shifting, I needed rainbow flashing.  So this little selection of lacquers came together.

Zoya’s Ivanka is a green foil-like glitter.  It’s rather dense and flashes gold and blue at different angles.  It took 2 coats for opaque coverage.  I then went over it with one coat of FingerPaints’ Movie in the Park, a more sparse purple sparkle in a clear base.  The result was lovely on its own.

Double Glitter

2 coats of Zoya’s Ivanka, 1 coat of FingerPaints’ Movie in the Park.

Double Glitter Blur

Unfocused to show the sparkle. 2 coats of Zoya’s Ivanka, 1 coat of FingerPaints’ Movie in the Park.

Ivanka Sparkle

2 coats of Zoya’s Ivanka, 1 coat of FingerPaints’ Movie in the Park.

So then I layered one coat of Ozotic 509 silver linear holo over the top.  I own a few silver holos, but I chose Ozotic because it’s relatively thin on a first coat, unlike Nfu Oh 61′s more opaque coverage.

Holo Thumb

2 coats of Zoya’s Ivanka, 1 coat of FingerPaints’ Movie in the Park, 1 coat of Ozotic 509.

Again, amazing even without applying Fantasy Fire.  But I wasn’t about to stop here.  I had to take it all the way home, and sandwich that holo between glitter and glitter.  Ready for the photo spam?  Here goes.

Fantasy Fire Lamp 1

Max Factor’s Fantasy Fire over Holo and Glitter layers. Topped with Seche Vite.  Incandescent light.

Fantasy Fire Lamp 2

Max Factor’s Fantasy Fire over Holo and Glitter layers. Topped with Seche Vite.  Halogen light.

Fantasy Fire Sun 1

Max Factor’s Fantasy Fire over Holo and Glitter layers. Topped with Seche Vite. Sunlight.

Fantasy Fire Grocery 1

See those tomatoes in the background? Turns out the produce section at my grocery store has fabulous pendant lighting. And yes, I’m totally okay with whipping out my phone and taking photos of my nails over by the tomatoes.

Fantasy Fire Grocery 2

Unfocused photos are always better for showing off the sparkle.

Color Shift Thumb

Deeper angle to show more holo.

Fantasy Fire Thumb 2

Want to see that thumb in motion?

Fantasy Fire Gif

And here goes the whole hand. Sparkle sparkle!

And finally, here’s a video of the sparkle motion.  Never doubt my commitment.

So what do you think?  Amazing or totally amazing?  Would you spend your precious unicorn pee on an experiment like this?

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on July 2, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Fantasy Fire is killing me. Want.

    • what’s killing me is the size of the bottle. i’m no good at visualizing liquid volume, so even though i knew the bottle measurement i was still shocked when it showed up and it was so tiny. basically i’m pretty sure if i do a second mani, that will be it. it will be all gone.

Leave a Reply

