Terrible Tips

My hands are totally thrashed.  I’ve been working on a geocaching project, as well as doing lots of geocaching.  I’ve been slathered in bug repellant and reaching into rough, dank crevices to get my hands on camouflaged containers.  Then there was the pool party and all that chlorine…

I’ve had so little time for nail care over the last week or so.  Instead of proactively doing my nails every other day because I feel like it, I’m having to scrimp and pinch to find the time to do them every few days.  My tips are worn and my cuticles are thrashed.

But that’s not going to stop me from showing a photo!  Gag with me, people!

I’m sharing this because it relates to my last entry, Essie’s Mirror Metallics.  I want to make a point about how they wear.  The formula is beautiful, and the lacquer hugs tight to the nail bed.  Peeling isn’t really a risk, unless you apply with a very heavy hand.  Chipping in big chunks doesn’t seem likely, either.  The formula is just a bit fragile at the tips.  They wear away easily, leaving you with a ragged looking edge, with bits of exposed nail tip.  I’ll admit I’ve been hard on my hands but I definitely feel like these polishes showed wear sooner than than they should have.

Thanks to last nights’ fireworks festivities I didn’t have time to redo all ten fingers.  So when I got home I slapped on a quick tip fix, with not so great results.  I decided to tape them off and slap on a complementary creme shade, funky-French style.

It’s not good.  It’s interesting, but I hate it.  If I’d had the time to pace myself maybe it wouldn’t look so rushed.  But it is what it is.  And I’m sharing a photo anyway.

Metallic Pastel Tips

Meh.  And look at how junky my cuticles are right now.

All I can think of is going home and stripping it all off.  I hate that I’m going to have to look at this all day, and show them off in meetings.  It’s not even 9:30 and I’m clock-watching.  Is it time to go home yet?

Full cuticle work tonight, man.  Plus I’ll share my geocaching project, too.

 

*grumble*

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on July 5, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

