Looks Like Buttercream. Applied Like It, Too.

Following that fabulous green creme experience, I decided to try yellow creme.  I did an unadorned, straight-up polish job using FingerPaints’ Lemon Sour.  This was one of the clearance items I picked up at Sally’s clearance table sale a month ago.

Three coats of FingerPaints’ Lemon Sour, topped with Seche Vite.

The shade itself was beautiful, closer to buttercream than lemon yellow.  The formula, on the other hand, was typical of yellows.  It was streaky, uneven, refused to level, and required three coats.  The result was thicker than I wanted, and clean-up was difficult.  You can see in the photo that I was left with chalky-looking remnants around my cuticles.

And my Seche Vite is getting thicker again, which means the shrinkage is back.  I swear, once you factor in the cost of nail polish thinner, Seche Vite becomes a ridiculously expensive product.

I’ll probably wear it again, in spite of its limitations.  I’ve not yet seen a yellow lacquer that didn’t streak and require three or more coats.  Certainly not a soft buttercreme instant-tan kind of shade.  And seeing as I paid about $1.30 on the bottle, I have no regrets.

It does look a bit naked, though.  Next time I think I’ll stamp, perhaps tone-on-tone with a more intense yellow like NYC’s Lexington Yellow.

Lemon Sour in Soft Light

FingerPaints’ Lemon Sour in softer sunlight.  Looks much better in soft focus, too.

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on July 11, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

