School of Hard Rocks and a Total Disaster

Have a look at this amazing Essie that goes by the name of School of Hard Rocks.  It’s a lovely gray teal, and I own no other blue like it.  The formula was outstanding, which was a relief considering how streaky my recent Essie experiences have been.  This one self-leveled nicely and covered in two easy coats.  I forgot to get a photo before I started testing special FX top coats, so what you’re seeing is Spectraflair on the pointer finger and FingerPaints’ Art You Wondering? on the middle finger.

Oh yeah… and that ring finger nail keeps cracking over and over and over in the same spot.  I think I have a nail matrix flaw going on here.

School of Hard Rocks

2 coats of Essie’s School of Hard Rocks, topped with Seche Vite. Spectraflair holographic top coat on pointer, FingerPaints’ Art You Wondering? on middle. Oh…. and don’t mind that sad broken nail.

School Spectraflair

Essie’s School of Hard Rocks, topped with Spectraflair (pointer) and FingerPaints’ Art You Wondering? (middle).

So…………………..

I waffled back and forth about sharing a disaster.  It’s humiliatingly bad.  I tried taping but I was impatient and tried to rush and it came out so terrifically awful.

It was a good concept, combining FingerPaints’ Lemon Sour and Sinful Colors’ Dream On, which is a true neon pink.  I love the two colors next to each other.  But the taping?  It looks like a 6-year-old did my nails.  Sweet Mother Magoo, I hope I never do anything this terrible ever again.

Disaster

TOTAL DISASTER. 2 coats of FingerPaints’ Lemon Sour and 2 coats of Sinful Colors’ Dream On. OH THE HUMANITY.

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on July 23, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. nice!

    p.s. I’m having a $100 SheInside giveaway if you’d like to check it out!
    devorelebeaumonstre.com xx

Leave a Reply

