China Glaze On Safari Pistol Mani

I finally got my hands on China Glaze’s new On Safari Collection.  I picked up one of each, then guilted myself into putting some back.  I ended up with four, Elephant Walk, Man Hunt, Purr-fect Plum, and Jungle Queen.  I will be back for the others, this I swear.  It’s a stunning collection.

I needed to recover from yesterday’s yellow-pink taping disaster by doing something a bit more sophisticated.  I decided to do a pistol mani and combine Purr-fect Plum and Jungle Queen.  Purr-fect Plum is a stunning merlot with a fabulous formula.  Jungle Queen is a deep purplish mushroom color, a stunningly sophisticated neutral.  I’ve seen swatches on the major nail blogs where it looked very purple, but in person it definitely skewed more mushroom with purple overtones.  It also has a nearly perfect formula, very close to a one-coater.

Purr-fect Pistol 3

China Glaze’s Purr-fect Plum (thumb and pointer) with China Glaze’ Jungle Queen. Topped with Diamond Dry quick dry top coat.

In my opinion China Glaze has the most consistent high-quality formulas.  OPI and Essie are on-again, off-again with their formulas.  Sometimes lovely, but many times streaky.  I feel like buying a creme from China Glaze is a pretty safe bet, which I can’t say about any other brand.  Dare I call it my favorite?

Purr-fect Pistol 2

China Glaze’s Purr-fect Plum (pointer) with Jungle Queen.

Sally’s is running a promotion where you get a free bottle of Diamond Dry quick dry top coat if you buy 2 China Glazes.  I decided to give it a shot to see how it performed.  It reviews well, applied nicely, and dried in just slightly more time than Out the Door or Seche Vite.  We’ll see if it thickens over time and starts showing the classic QDTC shrinkage, but so far so good.

Purr-fect Pistol

Thumb and pointer: China Glaze’s Purr-fect Plum. Middle, ring and pinkie: China Glaze’s Jungle Queen. All topped with Diamond Dry quick dry top coat.  Shown with Hot Wheels’ ’70 Pontiac GTO.

Purr-fect Pistol Sun

China Glaze’s Purr-fect Plum with Jungle Queen. The camera doesn’t pick up the very slight purple sheen that shows up in direct sun. But it’s there, subtle but there.

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on July 24, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

