Mini Dupe-fest Swatcharama: OPI Edition

So I told myself I needed to go on a nail polish diet.  Not a fast, a diet.  Cheap polishes, nothing over $3 a bottle.  Well that didn’t fly.  I happened to find two Nicole by OPI lacquers that needed to come home with me.  NEEDED!

I decided to do a swatch-off with two OPI polishes from the Amazing Spider-Man collection, just to see how they matched up.  The first is a mashup of OPI’s Just Spotted the Lizard, the green-gold Peridot clone, and Nicole by OPI’s Mer-Maid for Each Other.  Now, I’m not so blind as to think Mer-Maid is a Lizard dupe.  But its blue-gold shift was so similar to Lizard in quality that I wanted to see them side by side.

OPI Duochrome Compare

Pointer and ring: OPI’s Just Spotted the Lizard. Middle and pinkie: Nicole by OPI’s Mer-Maid for Each Other. Two coats each, no base or top coat.

Fascinating, eh?  They’re so similar in texture, formula and application, and duochrome shift.  It’s just that bit of green and bit of blue that separate them.  Both are stunning, for sure.  They reflect every bit of light they can catch, appearing almost luminescent even in low light.  Both are definitely instant favorites.

Next I compared OPI’s Number One Nemesis with Nicole by OPI’s For Gold Time Sake.  These are nearly identical in the bottle, so this is a true dupe-off.

OPI Metallic Compare

Pointer and ring: OPI’s Number One Nemesis. Middle and pinkie: Nicole by OPI’s For Gold Time Sake. Three coats, no base or top coat.

The formulas are identical, right down to needing three coats to get full coverage.  For Gold Time sake is slightly warmer, but honestly the difference is nearly negligible.

Anywho, I decided to do a full ten fingers of Mer-Maid for Each Other.  It really is a stunner and I needed to see it in all its glory.

Mer-Maid Interior

Two coats of Nicole by OPI’s Mer-Maid for Each Other, topped with Seche Vite. The car is Hot Wheels’ Tail Dragger.

Mer-Maid Exterior

Nicole by OPI’s Mer-Maid for Each Other in full sunlight. It just glows, people. It just glows.

Mer-Maid ECU

Nicole by OPI’s Mer-Maid for Each Other.

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on July 31, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. The nailpolish diet NEVER works. I say this as someone who started 2 years ago and now own probably 400+ polishes. It just gets worse.

Leave a Reply

