Pirate’s Booty Nails

I keep saying I don’t like orange lacquer, but then I keep buying orange lacquers.  This one is from Wet n’ Wild’s 9021 Orange, from the FastDry line.  It’s a sheer orange that’s jam packed with shimmery glass flecks.  Since I’m a sucker for a glass fleck finish, I had to have it.  And of course I had to try layering it over black.  I did two coats of China Glaze’s Liquid Leather, my go-to black.  I then did one layer of 9021 Orange.

9021 Orange with Car

2 coats of China Glaze’s Liquid Leather and 1 coat of Wet n Wild’s 9021 Orange. The car is Hot Wheels’ Med Evil. For the record, we have lots of cars but only a handful live downstairs where I update my blog. The others are in the boys’ bedroom and I never remember to grab a new one when I need one.

The title of this entry probably makes no sense, but I keep thinking the finished mani shimmers like gold.  Last night before bed I told J that I hoped I wouldn’t run into any pirates on my morning hike who might want to steal my booty.  J’s response was that I should be more concerned about leprechauns.  That inspired a debate about whether leprechauns steal gold to acquire it, or if they just possess gold and give it to people who discover it.  Long story short, we both ended up going to sleep quite a bit later than we expected.

9021 Orange

Wet n Wild’s 9021 Orange over black. It shimmers like gold.  Sorry about the stray hair.

I would have preferred to show this in daylight but it’s the rainy season in Georgia right now, and sunlight can be hard to come by some days.  Also, I went out geocaching again and chipped both thumbs before I could put a camera on them anyway.

Oh well.

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on August 4, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. sparkles!!!!!!! love the sparkle 🙂

Leave a Reply

