Morbid Holo

A while back I bought Wet n Wild’s Morbid in an eBay auction, specifically because I’d seen it reviewed as a dupe of Chanel’s Black Pearl.  When it arrived I thought there was no way it could resemble BP, mostly due to a smattering of bluegreen shimmer throughout. But on the nail it actually bears a passing resemblance to BP.  It’s not an intentional resemblance, it’s really a failure of the formula to make the bluegreen shimmer show once applied.  But that failure is paydirt.  I refuse to pay Chanel’s prices on principle so this was a nice budget-friendly compromise.  It’s no dupe, though, let’s be clear about that.  But it’s similar enough to be good enough.

I decided to try it out, but as with all of my recent manis I felt like I wasn’t done without layering.  So I added a coat of Spectraflair holographic top coat.  Ohgodyes.

And um… do I need to mention my thrashed cuticles again?  It’s a combination of lots of bug spray, sweating, and foraging in the woods, and I just can’t get on top of the nastiness.

Morbid Holo Car

2 coats of Wet n Wild’s Morbid with one coat of Spectraflair holographic top coat. The car is Hot Wheels’ Rogue Hog.

Morbid Holo

2 coats of Wet n Wild’s Morbid with 1 coat of Spectraflair holographic top coat.

Morbid Holo ECU

Extreme close up in bright sunlight of Wet n’ Wild’s Morbid with Spectraflair holographic top coat. The tips are already starting to wear and chip because I was worried a top coat like Seche Vite would squash the holo effect.

Morbid Holo GPS

Off angle Morbid with Holo and Garmin eTrex Venture GPSr. The tips are already starting to wear and chip because I was worried a top coat like Seche Vite would squash the holo effect.

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on August 7, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

