USA Olympic Nails

It’s rare that I make an overt show of patriotism but I was thinking tonight that I’ve never gotten around to wearing China Glaze’s Dorothy Who?, a gorgeous dense blue glitter.  That got me thinking about the other China Glaze glitters I own, and how much I love Ruby Pumps.  So I decided to do a red white and blue glitter in reference to the impending close of the 2012 Summer Olympics.

Olympic Sun

Blue: China Glaze’s Dorothy Who? White: China Glaze’s Polarized. Red: China Glaze’s Ruby Pumps. 2 coats each, topped with Seche Vite.

China Glaze makes the best glitters.  Nicely consistent formulas with lots of light catching surfaces.  In my opinion they set the standard that all other glitter polishes have to meet.  Each formula of these three colors is a bit different, but they are each formulated perfectly for the look they achieve, and apply like a dream.

Dorothy Who? is a classic glitter.  The blue base builds nicely with just two coats, and the blue and silver glitter particles are prominent and sparkly.  Polarized is from this spring’s Prismatic collection, with dense silver and holographic glitter particles of varying shape and size, creating a textural effect that applies astonishingly easily.  Ruby Pumps has more of a jelly feel to it.  The base is a rich red and the tiny sparkly particles are suspended within it, creating an outstanding inner shimmer somewhere between a glitter and a glass fleck effect.  I’m not usually a big fan of red, but this one is outstanding.  The camera doesn’t do it justice, it must be seen in person.

Olympic Nails 1

Red: China Glaze’s Ruby Pumps. White: China Glaze’s Polarized. Blue: China Glaze’s Dorothy Who? Topped with Seche Vite. The car is Hot Wheels’ Surf Crate.

Olympic Nails 2

A trio of China Glaze glitters: Dorothy Who, Polarized, and Ruby Pumps.

No funky or intricate nail art, just three glitters.  Thanks for an entertaining Olympics, London.  And certainly for the best opening ceremony I’ve ever seen, with music direction by my favorite artists, Underworld.  Enjoy Caliban’s Dream, the sweetest Olympic anthem ever.

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on August 9, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

