Turquoise and Gold Stamped

Is there any color combination more classic than turquoise and gold?  Probably.  But for the purposes of this introduction just go along with it.  I wanted to do something that felt refined, and I’ve been ignoring my 70+ Bundle Monster and Red Angel plates.  Most of the Bundle Monster plates I have are too small for full nail coverage.  But Red Angel still does the trick and has some lovely patterns, perfect for a color combination like this.

Turquoise Stamped 1b

This is two coats of China Glaze’s For Audrey, stamped with Orly’s Luxe.  I kind of wish I’d gone with Glitz since it’s a bit yellower but either way I think this is a nice combo.  I added a layer of Sally Hansen’s Diamond Shine top coat, and then finished with a layer of Seche Vite.  The double clear coat serves two purposes:  First, Seche Vite performs better over a wet layer, and the turquoise layer needed to be dry before stamping.  Second: I find Diamond Shine before Seche Vite makes an ultra glossy, super gloss shine.  So glossy, in fact, that I had to angle my fingers in order for the camera to pick up the design rather than glare.

Turquoise Gold

Overcast today, so this is the most sun I can give you.  Try to ignore the space at the bottom of my thumb where the stamp didn’t quite take.  Boooooooo.

Turquoise Stamped 2b

Here you can see my ever-broken ring finger nail on my right hand.  I have a flaw in the nail matrix that causes the nail to crack as soon as it grows out a bit.  I’m still trying to figure out a solution for that.

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on August 11, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

