China Glaze Bohemian – Sponge Marble

The China Glaze Bohemian collection is worthy of more than one post.  It’s just gorgeous, and as soon as I finished with my last blog update I immediately started thinking about what else I wanted to do.  This time I wanted to marble the colors together.  The only problem with that idea is that I’m no water marbler.  It’s just beyond me to make it work.  But I can sponge like a mofo, so that’s what I did.  It came out looking marbled so let’s just call it a sponge marble.

Ohmygodfabulous!

Bohemian Sponge Sun 1

2 coats of China Glaze’s Swanky Silk, followed by Want my Bawdy, Unpredictable, No Plain Jane, Deviantly Daring, and Rare and Radiant.  Topped with Seche Vite.

Bohemian Sponge Sun 2

Sponged? Marbled? Spongemarbled.

I laid down two coats of Swanky Silk for a nice champagny-goldy base.  When that was dry I took the other five colors, Want my BawdyUnpredictableNo Plain JaneDeviantly Daring, and Rare and Radiant, dripped little droplets on the tip of a cosmetic wedge and started dabbing.

Bohemian Sponge Shade1

Preeeeeeeetty!

Bohemian Sponge Shade 2

Here’s another uninspired photo caption.

The wedge wanted to absorb the lacquer, which was annoying to say the least.  But by dabbing very lightly and moving quickly I was able to apply the color in a nicely blended mix.  If I wanted more of one color I would just add another drip.  I worked across all ten fingers and gave it a few minutes to set, then topped it off with a coat of Seche Vite.

Bohemian Shade Car 1

Bohemian Sponge Car 2

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on August 14, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I need to do more sponging. I use it for my space nails, and it is really easy. I still haven’t done stamping that I’m impressed with ever.

    • i haven’t done space nails yet. everyone says it’s easy but i’m convinced it’s harder than it sounds. one of these days i need to get brave and just do it.

Leave a Reply

