UnforGretable You #NOTD

I have three blues that don’t want to play nicely with each other.  They all want my attention but they’re not tonally similar enough to wear them together.  I had to decide among three options for this mani: OPI’s Unfor-Greta-Bly Blue, Nicole by OPI’s If the Blue Fits and China Glaze’s Want my Bawdy.  Unfor-Greta-Bly won.

Unfor-Greta-Bly Blue is a gorgeous jewel-toned blue from the new Germany Collection.  The formula is lovely and the finish is very nice.  But I couldn’t leave well enough alone.  So I stamped it with China Glaze’s Deviantly Daring, an amazingly rich blue-green duochrome from the Bohemian collection.  The Bohemians aren’t strong stampers, since they’re all a wee bit sheer on the first coat.  But they create a very nice tone-on-tone shifting shimmer if you like a subtle look.  Which I do!

Unforgretably Sun 1

Two coats of OPI’s Unfor-Greta-Bly Blue, stamped with China Glaze’s Deviantly Daring and topped with Seche Vite.

Unforgretably Sun 2

Another bright sunlight shot.

Unforgretably Shade

Softer lighting with less glare and more visible stamping.

Unforgretably Car

Hot Wheels… oh I dunno… I’ve posted at length about this one before and I’m too lazy to go find all that info again now.

 

 

 

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on August 24, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I seriously love this mani. I have given up on stamping because every time I try it is a complete disaster. However, now I want this manicure so I am torn about trying again. Do you have tips?

    • Practice, practice, practice. I’ve done tons of terrible stamps. I’m only now at a point where I feel like I can line it up well enough to get each fingernail’s pattern pointing approximately the same direction.

      More useful tips: Use one-coaters to start. If it’s either opaque or nearly opaque with one coat, you can stamp with it. Stamping with quick-drying formulas will yield much frustration. Also, use a light touch. The impulse is to press down hard to transfer the stamp, but you’ll actually get better results if you work lightly. Roll the stamper across the image plate lightly, then line up the stamper with the edge of your nail and roll lightly across the nail plate. Pressing hard is more likely to result in smudges or misalignment. Or sometimes for whatever weird reason the polish is more likely to sit in the grooves than be picked up by the stamper f you press hard.

      Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

