Doc Marten Nails #NOTD

A few days ago one of my good friends from high school posted a link on my Facebook wall: The 5 Most Baffling Things About Pinterest: Explained (warning, it’s Cracked.com; you may lose your afternoon).  He was mocking my newfound love of nails and nail photography and nail blogging and nails nails nails.

Rightfully so.

In response, another good friend from high school showed up and added to the exchange, and then tagged in yet another good friend from high school.  The four of us used to spend our days together, like a tight-knit little gang.  And this momentary exchange brought us all back together again.  God, I love the internet.

The photo featured in the article shows Chuck Taylors rendered as nail art.  At the end of the Facebook exchange one of my friends reminded the rest of us that my shoe choice at the end of high school was a pair of 10-hole Doc Martens with bright purple laces.  Ogod they were gloriously 90s.

10 Hole Docs

I wore these suckers everywhere.

The above photo is how they looked new.  Want to see what they look like now?  These are 20-year-old boots, worn daily until the soles cracked through, and then stored in a closet for a decade and a half.

Docs

Not quite as badass these days.

So I figured, they think they can call my bluff by laughing at the ridiculous notion of purple laced boot nails?  I’LL SHOW THEM!

Doc Marten Nails 1

2 coats of China Glaze’s Liquid Leather, 1 coat of Seche Vite, purple striping tape, 1 coat of Sally Hansen’s Diamond Shine, and a final coat of Seche Vite. Holy cow.

That’s right, liquid leather nails with bright purple “laces.”  I love how it turned out.  And the gloss is just out of this world.  Combat boot nails?  Nailed it.

Doc Marten Nails 2

Shoe nails and shoes.

 

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on August 26, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. My oldest Docs are red and black wingtips from around 1994-95. I am obsessed with them, but I don’t think I could recreate them on my nails. I love your purple laces!

Leave a Reply

