Misaligned Screen-Print Nails #NOTD

I’m trying so hard not to buy new colors, but I ran across Sally Hansen’s Pacific Blue and I just couldn’t resist it.  It’s a gorgeous purple-leaning blue, like the deepest periwinkle you’ve ever seen.  It’s a creme, but it glows.  Gorgeous.

I immediately wanted to do something bright with it, and of course my first thought was stamping.  I got this idea in my head about the look of screen printing, especially when the template is just slightly misaligned so the colors don’t quite match up.  I found a really nice blog entry that shows aligned and misaligned screen printing.

So I decided to do something new for me, and to just do a small object stamp rather than a full nail plate.  I chose a rose stamp from one of my Red Angel plates, stamped first in white, and then in Wet n Wild Frosted Fuschia, a blue-leaning bright pink.  The trick was to get the second stamp rotated like the first, but just off center so the overlap is only partial.

This is quite different for me, but I actually like it.  I’ve gotten some compliments, too, so that’s something to feel good about.  The camera didn’t quite pick up the blue accurately, so definitely seek it out and get to know this color in person.

Screen Print Nails 2

2 coats of Sally Hansen’s Pacific Blue, stamped with Konad white stamping polish and Wet & Wild’s Frosted Fuchsia.

Screen Print Nails

Toy garbage can.  Because toy trucks need to crash into something.

Screen Print Nails 3

My hands look washed out, but the color skews a little more accurately in overcast natural light. Plus, check out my perpetually broken ring finger nail. A flaw in the nail matrix means it grows out cracked and has to stay trimmed down.

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on August 29, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

