Meh-nicure #NOTD

It’s been a quiet few days around here because I’ve had a run of unsatisfactory manicures.  Or as I’m calling them, meh-nicures.  There’s even one that was so “meh” that I didn’t even bother taking photos.

But in the interest of continuing to post, I’ll share all of my disappointments.

First up, I found the new Sally Hansen Insta-Dri shimmer colors at Walgreens.  I tried out Purple Haste, a warm violet with a nice micro-shimmer.  I paired it with Essence’s Oh My Glitter for a pistol mani look.  I actually really liked it, until I took it too far and topped it all with Sally Hansen High Definition’s DVD, a blue-purple glass-fleck top coat.  It robbed the base coats of personality.  It was meh.

Purple Meh

Sally Hansen Insta-Dri’s Purple Haste with Essence’s Oh My Glitter!

Purple Meh Frost

Topped with Sally Hansen High Definition’s DVD.  Meh.

I decided to swing by Sephora this weekend and picked up my first Illamasqua and my third Nails Inc.  I was wooed by the bottom-lights in the fancy racks and fell for Illamasqua’s Viridian, a shimmery metallic blue-green.  Turns out it’s not shimmery, it was just the lighting.  The formula on this stuff is absolutely top-notch.  One of the best applications I’ve ever experienced.  A++ for formula.  But the color is meh.  Certainly not worth the $14 I spent on it.  I paired it up with Jesse’s Girl in Glee, a foil-shimmer blue-green that’s just a bit duochrome.  On the off angle it actually shifts yellower, which is a nice change.

Green Meh

Illamasqua’s Viridian with a pistol accent in Jesse;s Girl’s Glee.

Finally I have a mani that should have been gorgeous if it weren’t for a catastrophic topcoat failure.  I picked up Nails Inc’s Franklins Row, a blue-purple duochrome micro-glitter glassfleck beauty.  It’s stunning.  But for some reason it doesn’t play well with Seche Vite.  Not all top coats are going to marry with every lacquer, but usually Seche Vite does the trick.  In this case the lacquer stayed soft for a very long time, wrinkling badly on my right hand an hour and a half after finishing them, and my left hand creased in my sleep.  I’ve never had a quick dry topcoat failure like this.  Wrecked the whole damn thing.

Duo Meh

Nails Inc’s Franklins Row over China Glaze’s Liquid Leather. Creased and wrinkled from a massive QDTC failure.

 

 

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on September 12, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

