Bam-blue-zled Blurple #NOTD

I stopped by Ulta this weekend and was underwhelmed by my options.  I think they must be between summer and fall collections, so many of the racks were half-emptied and boring.  I have a document on my iPhone that I use to keep track of polishes I want.  I have four Butter LONDON shades I want to see in person, but the rack has been cleared, hopefully for the new fall shades.  No new fall Zoyas yet, no OPIs worth picking up.  I’ve even cleared out all of the new Essences I was interested in.

But I did happen to spy a blurple creme in the Ulta house brand, and I have to admit it’s pretty damn lovely.  It’s called Bam-blue-zled and it’s nearly a perfect chameleon between blue and purple.  In bright sunlight it is definitely blue.  In soft lamplight it is definitely purple.  In any inbetween lighting it is a lovely hybrid.

The formula was surprisingly good.  This is the kind of soft shade I expect to be streaky, especially since my most recent purchases in this color neighborhood have been streaky as hell.  But this was two easy coats with no streaks.  Nice!

My cuticle woes continue to worsen.  I’m so hard on my hands and I don’t remember to moisturize enough.  Plus I’ve sort of been picking at them, which is no good for anyone.  But here we go anyway.

Notice how the first picture leans purple and the second picture leans blue.  Overcast day, just two minutes apart, enough light intensity change to alter the color balance.  Very cool.

Bam-blue-zled

Two coats of Bam-blue-zled, one coat of Seche Vite. No sun today.

Bam-b;ue-zled 2

Two coats of Bam-blue-zled and one coat of Seche Vite.

 

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on September 20, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

