#NOTD 2: Electric Blue-galoo

I tried, man.  I really tried.  But I’m just not much of a sponger.  I really had such a lovely gradient in mind, but I think my problem was using two very different shades without a transition color.  But hey, look how electrified the blue tips look!  As long as people stand at least 20 feet away, they look pretty smart.

The base is one of E.L.F’s new fall shades.  I found it at target, sporting a snakeskin-patterned cap.  This one has no name, but is stamped with the number 23.  It’s very deep blue, nearly black, with lots of blue sparkle.  I laid down two difficult coats and then sponged on the lighter blue.  The lighter color is from Julie G nail polish, a drugstore brand I found at Rite Aid.  The color is called Kickin’ It, a rich aqua blue with green duochrome effect.  It glows, people.  I dabbed a bit on the tips and then sponged down the nail a bit.  Topped it all with Seche Vite.

Electric Bluegaloo 1

E.L.F. 23 and Julie G’s Kickin’ It.

Electric Bluegaloo 2

E.L.F. 23 and Julie G’s Kickin’ It.

Electric Bluegaloo 3

E.L.F. 23 and Julie G’s Kickin’ It.

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on September 27, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

