I’m Alive

It’s been a crazy couple of weeks.  I went up to the mountains for vacation and I’m travelling for work this week.  I have photos in my camera of my last non-disastrous manicure, but I haven’t had time to pull them off and crop them.

However, something happened while I was out of town that totally destroyed my nails.  I don’t know if it was the polish or abuse of Nail Envy hardening basecoat, but my nails started peeling terribly.  I believe the technical term is delamination.

It’s pretty bad.  I have photos.  They’re ugly.

The polish I was wearing when I left town started chipping, and every time it chipped it took big strips of nail plate with it.  I was ill prepared and had no nail polish remover or buffer, so it had several days to progress before I could do anything about it.  The peeling weakened the tips, which meant I had to cut them all down, too.  So now they’re stubby and peeled and uneven and awful.  It’s a friggin’ tragedy.

But nails grow.  So I’ll do some buffing, I bought some Naltiques Formula 2 protein treatment, and I’ll keep them protected until the damage grows out.  Which will probably take a long time.  *sigh*

In the meantime, enjoy this ELO track from the classic movie Xanadu.  It’s my go-to song when I need a pick-me-up.

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on October 15, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

