Back from the Dead #NOTD

So I’m finally back from all of my traveling and after several confused days I finally found my camera.  So here we go.

Ages ago I picked up a bottle of Milani’s Sail Away but never tried it out.  I knew I wouldn’t be able to do my nails while I was up in the Georgia Mountains on vacation, so I chose it as a color I could live with for a whole week.

The application was fine, the shimmer is prominent, and if mattified I think it would look like a perfect denim blue-jean finish.  It’s quite nice.

Sail Away 1

Milani’s Sail Away, topped with Seche Vite.

Sail Away 2

Milani’s Sail Away, topped with Seche Vite.

But then things went distnictly not nice.  My polish started to chip.  Around day 2 I got my first little chips, no big deal.  By day 3 the chips were getting significant, peeling off in big chunks.  I had no nail supplies with me, so there wasn’t much I could do.  Then after I lost a few chunks I realized something terrible was happening.  The peeling polish was taking bits of my nails with it.  My nail beds, which have never had a peeling problem, were suddenly peeling in dramatic fashion.  huge swaths of nail was just shredding off as the nail polish chipped away.

Sail Away 4

The damage begins.

Sail Away 3

The damage spreads.

It was horrifying.  I had no nail polish remover, no nail file, nothing.  And it got worse.  The peeling thinned my nails at the tips, weakening and making them flexible.  They bent and they broke.  Broke way down.  I ended up having to cut them all down pretty much to nothing.

So now I’m back and my nails are pretty much destroyed.  I’ve been working on recovery solution, which I’ll address in my next post.

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on October 21, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Oh boo!! That sucks big time. Nail Envy to the rescue! I alway travel with mini nail supplies. I’m prone to breakage, so I can’t live without a file.

    • i’m not convinced overuse of nail envy didn’t contribute to the problem. apparently you can go overboard with hardeners and end up with peeling. so i’m putting my nail envy on a shelf and using a protein-based treatment until it all grows out.

  2. I’m so sorry. I recently had a heinous breakage that forced me to file down ALL of my nails, and they looked so sad. I’ve been trying to go longer between manicures to lessen the damage.

    • what sucks is that the peeling went way down the nail bed, so as i’m growing it out, these tissue-thin sections are breaking again and again. so i have a feeling i’m going to be shorty short for a while, at least until i get some undamaged sections grown out to the free edge.

Leave a Reply

