Dupe-fest Swatcharama: OPI Skyfall Collection #NOTD

I picked up six colors from OPI’s tribute to James Bond, the Skyfall collection.  The whole collection contains an amazing palette of colors and finishes.  I’m not sure I’ve ever seen a collection I loved this thoroughly, and I can’t wait to try them all.  Which is why I had to immediately swatch a few, just to see if they were similar to other shades I own.  In addition to the ones seen below, I also picked up The Spy Who Loved Me, a rich red with a golden shimmer, and You Only Live Twice, a glass-fleck bright magenta.

To cut to the chase, none of the following swatches are dupes.  But “Compare-Fest Swatcharama” doesn’t roll off of the tongue as nicely.  There’s a lot of shimmery and glittery particles in the upcoming polishes, so you’re going to see some incomplete clean-up and stray glittery bits.  But I’m okay with that.

First up is The World is Not Enough.  The closest polish I own is OPI’s Designer… De Better from the Muppets collection.  They’re similar in texture and application, but TWINE is a darker, let’s say toasted version.  I love love love it.  DDB is one of my top five favorite polishes, and this warmer, deeper version is absolutely lovely.

The World Is Not Enough

L to R: OPI’s The World is Not Enough, OPI’s Designer… De Better. 3 coats, no base or top coat.

On Her Majesty’s Secret Service is another amazing shade.  It is similar in texture to OPI’s Nunber One Nemesis and Lucerne-tainly Look Marvelous, but it skews purple.  It’s a bit multi-hued, actually, and it’s wonderful. It’s probably my second favorite of the bunch, behind Goldeneye.

On Her Majesty's Secret Service

L to R: OPI’s On Her Majesty’s Secret Service, OPI’s Number One Nemesis, OPI’s Lucern-tainly Look Marvelous. 3 coats each, no base or top coat.

Third is Goldeneye.  This one is my favorite of the whole collection.  It’s funny, I never wear gold jewelry, but I love a good gold nail polish. I own a few, and pulled out my favorites for comparison. Long story short, Goldeneye is amazing, and I could rave for days about how much I love it.  It’s the truest yellow gold I own, and the particles in the formula really capture the light with dazzling sparkles.  It’s a great over-the-top glamorous gold for the James Bond theme.

Due to its glittery texture, you would have to build several coats to eliminate any visible nail line.  So for everyday wear I’ll layer over one coat of Orly’s Luxe, since it’s a good opaque one-coater in the gold family.

Goldeneye

Pinkie to index: OPI’s Glitzerland, Orly’s Luxe, Orly’s Glitz, OPI’s Goldeneye. Two coats each, no base or top coat.

Last up I have the collection’s darkest shade, Live and Let Die.  It’s a black base with golden-green shimmer.  I immediately thought of China Glaze’s Wagon Trail, but side by side in the bottle the textures are actually dissimilar, thanks to Wagon Trail‘s more finely milled particles.  I found more similarity with China Glaze’s Smoke and Ashes from the Hunger Games collection, Insta-Dri’s In a Flurry, and I threw in Orly’s After Party for fun.  All are black with medium-coarse glitter particles.

All also share a similar challenge, which is the glitter disappearing as the lacquer base dries.  Smoke and Ashes is the worst offender, being the biggest disappointment in the Hunger Games collection.  Once that sucker dries, the glitter disappears and you’re left with the impression of a bumpy texture, rather than shimmer.  After Party also swallows its shimmer, but I’ve found that to be consistent across most of Orly’s vampy glitters.  In a Flurry is actually the winner of the bunch if you’re measuring by glitter presence.  It also takes more coats to build to opacity, which might be why the glitter doesn’t drown.

That said, Live and Let Die has one advantage:  formula.  Photography was difficult but hopefully you can see that even without a top coat the formula dries smooth and shiny, and just looks like a better finish.

After Party‘s glitter is blue and red, Smoke and Ashes‘ glitter is silver, In a Flurry‘s glitter is silver and blue, and Live and Let Die‘s glitter is golden-green.

Live And Let Die

Pinkie to index: Orly’s After Party, China Glaze’s Smoke and Ashes, Sally Hansen Insta-Dri’s In a Flurry, OPI’s Live and Let Die. 2 coats each, no base or top coat.

Live And Let Die 2

Different lighting with boosted contrast to show the glitter particles. Pinkie to index: Orly’s After Party, China Glaze’s Smoke and Ashes, Sally Hansen Insta-Dri’s In a Flurry, OPI’s Live and Let Die. Two coats each, no base or top coat.

So that’s it, lots of swatches, no dupes, but lots of lovely colors.  The Skyfall display at my Ulta was pretty ransacked, so if you want any of these you might head out ASAP to pick them up.  They’re going fast.

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on October 28, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

