Sparitual Sparkle #NOTD

I’ve been eyeballing Sparitual since I first saw a review of their collection last spring.  At the time the only place I could find it was at a hotel spa near my office, but I never found time to take a walk down the block to check them out.  Then this weekend I spotted a lineup in Sephora and had to grab one.

This is Meditate on This.  It’s a gorgeous, sparkly jewel-toned blue with blue and purple shimmer.  Plus it has a purple duochrome effect when angled in the light.  The texture is somewhere between a micro-glitter and a glass fleck.  It applies easily, a bit on the runny side but within tolerance.  Two coats was enough for opacity on most fingers, although this morning I noticed a couple of thin spots on my right thumb.  I topped it with Seche Vite.  It ate the top coat just a little bit.  Just a nibble.  Not as bad as most glitter polishes.

I did an accent nail in OPI’s Goldeneye.  Two coats over one coat of Orly Luxe, topped with Seche Vite.  All in all it’s sparkly as all get out.  It’s magical.  I love a magical mani.  I love shimmer and sparkle and color shift and all that gimmicky crap.  I love this look.  The gold goes so well with the blue.  Although I come from a family of Michigan State Spartans, so there’s some risk they’ll think I defected to U of M…

Meditate Goldeneye 1

Sparitual’s Meditate on This with OPI’s Goldeneye, topped with Seche Vite.

See what I’m holding there?  That’s one of my favorite rock specimens.  It’s a large sphere of Azurite, Cuprite, Shattuckite, and Chrysocolla.  The Jackson Pollock-esque scattering of blue and gold seemed like a good match for this mani.

Meditate on This and Goldeneye.

Meditate Goldeneye 3

Pinpoint lighting.

Meditate Goldeneye 4

Direct Sunlight.

Meditate Goldeneye Gif

In motion. Sparkle sparkle!

Meditate Purple Shift

Desperate attempt to show the purple shift. Beautiful in person, dastardly to catch on camera.

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on October 30, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I have this polish, I too bought it from Sephora. I love it! I use a navy under it for better coverage. I have used OPI Russian Navy and Essie Midnight Cami under this polish. The color is gorgeous…maybe use 3 coats next time if you dare….oh you motion pic, scared the daylights out of me. lolol. cute though.

Leave a Reply

