Halloween and OPI’s On Her Majesty’s Secret Service #NOTD

If you’ve ever wondered why I don’t do pictorial nail art, you’re about to see why.  I’m just terrible at it.  I wanted to do something Halloween themed for trick or treating tonight, but I started doing it just before I had to run out the door for a “harvest party” at preschool.  So I ended up slapping on a couple of coats of orange and using a fine-tipped sharpie for the detail.  Its….. it’s messy.  It’s not pretty.  But it will be dark when we’re out later, so I’ll live with it.

Majesty Pumpkins

OPI’s On Her Majesty’s Secret Service, with Wet n Wild’s Sunny Side Up, Sally Hansen Insta-Dry’s Just in Lime and black detail in fine-tipped Sharpie.

Let’s look at what I had going on before the pumpkin attack.  This is three coats of OPI’s On Her Majesty’s Secret Service from the 2012 Skyfall collection.  It’s an amazing lacquer.  It applies easily, and at quick glance looks like a steely-gray foil/glitter.  But when it catches the light it skews purple, with incredible yellow and green and blue sparkles.  It has already earned a place in my top-ranked most favorite polishes.

Majesty 1

3 coats of OPI’s On Her Majesty’s Secret Service, with ring finger stamped accent in Sally Hansen’s Complete Salon Manicure in Greige Gardens. Topped with Seche Vite.

That ball right there is my newest rock specimen.  It’s known as Tiger Iron, which is composed of striations of tiger eye (the yellow bit), red jasper, and black hematite.  It’s quite heavy.

Majesty 2

OPI’s On Her Majesty’s Secret Service

The stamping was a little too subtle in this case, and it was only visible in low light on extreme off-angles.  The color is nicely complementary, but nearly invisible when viewed directly.

Majesty Accent

Stamped with Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure in Greige Gardens, a soft gray lavender creme.

Majesty CU

Close-up shot to show the multi-hued sparkle. It’s an amazing finish.

 

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on October 31, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

